Look like you know what you’re talking about with these useful facts about the 2016 UEFA European Championship

UEFA Euro 2016 Logo.svg

The final tournament of the 15th UEFA European Football Championship, UEFA EURO 2016, will be held in France from 10 June to 10 July 2016.

This will be the third time that the final tournament is played in France (1960, 1984 and 2016).

The final of the first European Nations’ Cup took place in France in 1960.

The opening match and the final will be played at the Stade de France.

Spain are the two-time defending champions.

Germany and Spain have won the title the most times, with three victories each, followed by France, with two titles to their name.

If either Spain or Germany win UEFA EURO 2016, they will have won a record 4 times.

A total of 53 national teams participated in this qualifying process, with Gibraltar taking part for the first time after becoming members of UEFA in May 2013.

A new competition format will see 24 teams taking part in the final tournament, instead of 16, which has been the case since 1996.

France qualify automatically as host nation for 31 days.

There will be 51 matches – 20 more games than in 2012.

The 51 matches will be played in 10 host cities.

The venues and stadiums are:

  1. Saint-Denis – Stade de France
  2. Marseille – Stade Vélodrome
  3. Lyon – Stade des Lumières
  4. Lille – Stade Pierre-Mauroy
  5. Paris – Parc des Princes
  6. Bordeaux – Stade Bordeaux-Atlantique
  7. Saint-Étienne – Stade Geoffroy-Guichard
  8. Nice – Allianz Riviera
  9. Lens – Stade Félix-Bollaert
  10. Toulouse – Stadium Municipal

Every team will play their three group matches in different stadiums.

Pitches will be given recovery time of at least two days between games.

The third round of matches in each group will be played on the same day and at the same time.

2.5 million fans are expected in the stadiums, including 1.5 million foreign visitors, and they are expected to spend €1bn in the course of the tournament.

The matches will be broadcast live in more than 230 territories around the world. 150 million spectators are expected to follow each game live.

More than 8.1 billion viewers watched UEFA EURO 2012 matches on TV.

The winners and runners-up in each group will only play each other again if they both reach the final.

The winning team earns the right to compete at the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup hosted by Russia.

Poland’s Robert Lewandowski was the highest scorer of the UEFA EURO 2016 qualifiers, scoring 13. He was followed by Sweden’s Zlatan Ibrahimović  (11) and Germany’s Thomas Müller (9).

The official mascot of UEFA EURO 2016 is Super Victor. He is a little boy with super powers –  he also has a cape, magic boots that help him fly and he has a twitter account.

euro 2016 mascot